How to become a member of the President's Cabinet

President Trump is currently building his Cabinet and the Senate is expected to hold additional confirmation votes on more nominees this week.

Here's a quick refresher from on the steps it takes to become a member of the president's Cabinet:

The Cabinet on the United States is comprised of the most senior appointed officers which includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments: the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs. All Cabinet members are nominated by the President and then presented to the Senate for confirmation or rejection by simple majority. 

  1. All Cabinet members are nominated by president or president-elect
  2. Nominees are presented to the Senate for hearings before a relevant Senate committee
  3. If a majority of the committee votes for the nominee, it goes to the Senate floor for a vote by the full body. (A caveat here: the Senate majority leader can bring a nominee to the floor for a full Senate vote even if they do NOT get the approval of the relevant committee. It's rare, but it's happened in the past.)
  4. The nominee is confirmed by full Senate in a floor vote

For more on each of President Trump's nominees and their current status, check out the New York Times' Trump tracker for bios and updates.